the big-eyed queen

I found the Big-eyed Queen on the bathroom floor,
gazing in what I thought was a serene manner off
in a southwesterly fashion.
I followed her line of sight,
looking for a target, a focus,
but could find nothing I thought of particular
interest to a queen.
The one big eye I could see so calm,
the other side of her face invisible against the tiles.
She did not speak to me when I
addressed her as, “Your Majesty”,
but then she is a Queen.
Why would she turn her one, big, solemn
eye my way?

Leave a Reply

